about us events and programs artist resources arts organizations virtual gallery

Partners in the Arts is an innovative program designed to integrate the arts into the K-12 curriculum through partnerships among participating schools divisions, independent schools, artists' organizations and the community in the Metro Richmond area. Initiated by The Arts Council of Richmond, the program was established with funding from The National Endowment for the Arts. It is presently funded by schools, school systems, and individuals as well as corporate sponsors. Past corporate sponsors include: Philip Morris U.S.A., Gwathmey Foundation, GE Financial Assurance, and Verizon.

Partners in the Arts promotes collaborative programs that make the arts basic to the curriculum and that impact the cognitive development of students by employing creative teaching and learning skills.

Projects within Partners in the Arts include:

Teacher Education through the arts with seminars, workshops, graduate courses, and the annual Summer Institute, held in conjunction with the University of Richmond each June. Click here for more information on this year's Institute, to be held June 21-25, 2004.

Grants for projects that integrate the arts into the core curriculum. Partners in the Arts has distributed over $630,000 in grants over the past 10 years. Click here to request a copy of the 2009-2010 Grant Handbook; click here for upcoming grant application information; click here for the 2003-2004 Grant Recipient Project List.

Resource Information available in the Partners in the Arts' library. For synopses of lesson plans, read more.

Links to metro Richmond area school systems:
Chesterfield County Public Schools
Cumberland County Public Schools
Goochland County Public Schools
Hanover County Public Schools
Henrico County Public Schools
Powhatan County Public Schools
City of Richmond Public Schools

Our Partner private schools:
Benedictine High School, Charterhouse School, Collegiate School, Richmond Montessori School, St. Catherine's School, St. Christopher's School, St. Gertrude High School, St. Michael's Episcopal School, Seven Hills School, The Steward School, Stony Point School, Trinity Episcopal School

2009-2010 Governance Committee Members:
Ms. Judith Amos, Goochland County Schools; Mr. Sam Banks, City of Richmond; Mr. Jorge Benitez, Artist and Educator; Dr. Charles Bleick, Art Education, VCU; Dr. Yvonne Brandon, Richmond Public Schools; Dr. Patricia Brown, School of Continuing Stuides, University of Richmond; Mr. Steven Glass, Virginia Museum of Fine Arts; Dr. Dale Kalkofen, Chesterfield County Schools (Committee Chair); Ms. Jo Kennedy, Hand Workshop Art Center; Ms. Sandra Lynch, Powhatan County Schools; Ms. Joan Oates, Founding Chair; Ms. Sandy Rusak, Virginia Museum of Fine Arts; Ms. Barbara Wells, Chesterfield School Foundation; Mr. Michael Willis, Cumberland County Schools; Ms. Sharon Wilson, Virginia Commission for the Arts, Dr. Jamelle Wilson, Hanover County Schools; and Dr. Vicki Wilson, Henrico County Schools.